Memphis Preceptor Currie Crop

Preceptors of the Year

  APPE Preceptors of the Year: East Tennessee  Dr. Camille Graves received her PharmD from Creighton University. During her student experiential learning, she completed four Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (APPEs) at Methodist Medical Center in Oak Ridge (MMCOR). After graduation she was hired by MMCOR and currently coordinates the anticoagulation clinic there. She has been a…


Gatwood Funded by NIH Health Disparities Loan Repayment Program

Dr. Justin Gatwood’s application to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Health Disparities Loan Repayment Program was recently approved for funding by the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD). The NIH Loan Repayment Programs (LRP) were established by Congress and designed to recruit and retain highly qualified health professionals into biomedical or…

Franks Honored by ASP Crop

Franks Honored by APhA-ASP Chapter

At our September American Pharmacists Association-American Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) chapter meeting, we recognized one our favorite APhA-ASP advisors in Knoxville, Dr. Andrea Franks. She served as an advisor for the Knoxville campus from 2007-2015 and she has always been available with great advice and an open door.  Dr. Franks was awarded a plaque in appreciation for…

Knox Paintings Crop 2

Faculty and Staff Share Love of Art

On August 22, 2015, a group of University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy faculty and staff enjoyed a night out at Painting with a Twist in Knoxville. This paint studio offers fun and relaxing painting classes. Stephanie Weathers, student services coordinator, described this event as a very playful and relaxing opportunity to bond with co-workers.…


Faculty Publications

Dickerson RN. Assessing nitrogen balance in older patients. JPEN Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition 2015;39(7):759-760. Dickerson RN, Berry SC, Ziebarth JD, Swanson JM, Maish GO 3rd, Minard G, Brown RO. Dose response effect of ergocalciferol therapy on serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D concentration during critical illness. Nutrition 2015;31(10):1219-1223. George CM, Bruijn LL, Will K, Howard-Thompson A.…

Richard Brown(3)

Faculty Presentations

Brown R. Safe and effective use of hypoglycemics in type 2 diabetes. Tennessee Pharmacists Association 29th Annual Geriatric & Long-Term Care Conference. Franklin, TN. September 2, 2015. Farr G. New drug and therapeutic update for LTC pharmacists. Tennessee Pharmacists Association 29th Annual Geriatric & Long-Term Care Conference. Franklin, TN. September 1, 2015.


Darby Awarded TYLENOL Future Care Scholarship

Alaina Darby, Class of 2018 student pharmacist, was awarded a $5,000 TYLENOL® Future Care Scholarship for the 2015-2016 academic year. Of the hundreds of applications submitted, she is one of forty students selected for the scholarship nationwide. According to the TYLENOL® Future Care Scholarship website, the recipients have displayed academic excellence, exemplary leadership, community involvement, and…

blount logo final

Blount Discount Pharmacy Joins Pharmacy Residency Program

Dr. Phil LaFoy, was named the 2015 Entrepreneur of the Year by Pharmacy Times. He is one of the co-owners of Blount Discount Pharmacy and has joined the UTHSC College of Pharmacy’s PGY1 Community Residency Program. Dr. Lafoy will oversee resident learning experiences related to practice management and leadership at Blount Discount Pharmacy. Morgan Machen (’15) is…

Race For Summitt Crop II

Race for the Summitt – 4 Miler

The second annual Knoxville Race for the Summitt 4-Miler organized by the UTHSC College of Pharmacy’s American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) chapter is set for October 31, 2015 at 9 am Eastern Time. The race is a run/walk that will start and finish at Circle Park on the University of Tennessee, Knoxville undergraduate campus.…


APhA-ASP Golf Tournament

Mark your calendars for a tee-time on Wednesday, October 14, 2015 at 1:00 pm CT. The 21st annual Emmett Manley “PARscription” Golf Tournament is fast approaching. By participating in this fun event not only are you golfing at Mirmichi Golf Course in Millington, but you are helping your APhA-ASP chapter which is rich in tradition.…

Pre-ASP Crop

Pre-ASP Group Growing at UT Knoxville

On August 27, 2015, Stephanie Weathers, student services coordinator on the Knoxville campus, was joined by several student pharmacists from the UTHSC College of Pharmacy at an American Pharmacist Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) event organized for pre-pharmacy students at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Stephanie spoke to a crowd of 71 undergraduate students about…

Dragon Boat Race Crop

Faculty, Resident and Student Compete in Downtown Dragon, Drum and Paddle Race

The University of Tennessee Medical Center (UTMC) Brain and Spine Institute competed in the Downtown Dragon, Drum, and Paddle race on August 29, 2015 in Knoxville. The team consisted of members from Neuro Critical Care/Trauma Surgical Intensive Care Unit (NCC/TSICU), 7 South, Emergency Department (ED), University Anesthesiology, University Neurology, UTHSC Graduate School of Medicine, Neurosurgical…

Nashville Tailgate 2

Big Orange Tailgate Tour in Nashville

On September 5, 2015, the University of Tennessee Alumni Association hosted a Big Orange Tailgate Tour bash at BB King’s Downtown Nashville location. Several alumni from UTHSC and various colleges were present at this event before the UT vs. Bowling Green game. Kris Phillips is the associate vice chancellor of Alumni Affairs at UTHSC and Dr. Tracy Hagemann is professor…


More Upcoming Events

Event Date and Time Location Feurt Symposium October 14, 2015 8:30-11:00 AM (CT)/9:30 AM-12 noon (ET)   Memphis, Nashville and Knoxville campuses APhA-ASP Golf Tournament October 14, 2015 1:00 PM (CT)/2:00 PM (ET)     Mirimichi Golf Course, Millington   Race for the Summitt 4-Miler October 31, 2015 8:00 AM (CT)/9:00 AM (ET)    …

Thank You


Special thanks to fourth year student pharmacist, Tarkik Patel for his invaluable contributions to this edition of the newsletter. Additional thanks to Drs. Rex Brown, Peter Chyka, Richard Helms, and Leslie Hamilton, Stephanie Weathers and third year student pharmacists, Molly Hunt and Kimberly Keller for their contributions.